PUBLICATIONS

LIVRES

Positive Alpha Generation: Designing Sound Investment Processes (en anglais)

Design Thinking for Strategy: Innovating towards Competitive Advantage (en anglais)

de Dr Claude Diderich | à paraitre 2019 | Springer Verlag | Heidelberg, Allemagne


L’environnement commercial évolue plus rapidement que jamais auparavant. De nouvelles idées stratégiques émergent. Design Thinking for Strategy aide le lecteur à appliquer Design Thinking à la conception de stratégies novatrices répondant aux besoins réels des clients, exploitant les capacités disponibles, assurant la réussite financière et offrant un avantage concurrentiel

Design Thinking for Strategy guide le lecteur dans la jungle rencontrée lors de l’élaboration d’une stratégie de croissance et de rentabilité durables. Il aborde la stratégie de manière holistique en appliquant un raisonnement abductif, en observant les clients de manière itérative, en mettant l’accent sur l’empathie, en proposant des idées de prototypage et en les validant auprès de vrais clients

Positive Alpha Generation: Designing Sound Investment Processes (en anglais)

Positive Alpha Generation: Designing Sound Investment Processes (en anglais)

de Dr Claude Diderich | Janvier 2009 | John Wiley & Sons | Chichester, Grande Bretagne


Dr Claude Diderich décrit des outils et des techniques pouvant être utilisés pour développer des processus d’investissement qualitatifs et / ou quantitatifs permettant de gérer des portefeuilles d’actifs. Il montre comment les modèles théoriques peuvent être utilisés dans la pratique. Il décrit l’interaction entre les différents éléments de la chaîne de valeur d’un processus d’investissement. L’accent est mis sur l’illustration des théories à l’aide d’exemples concrets. À la fin du livre, le lecteur sera capable de concevoir ou d’améliorer un processus d’investissement, du début à la fin

ARTICLES DANS DES LIVRES

Strategizing about RoboAdvice (en anglais)

Strategizing about RoboAdvice (en anglais)

par Dr Claude Diderich | à paraitre 2019 | dans WealthTech: Wealth and Asset Management in the Fintech Age, M. Antenenn & P. Schueffel (eds.) | Information Age Publishing | Charlotte, NC | pp. N/A


Quand on parle de l’avenir de WealthTech, le mot à la mode Robo-Advice n’est pas loin. Mais qu’est-ce que Robo-Advice? Dans ce chapitre, l’auteur passe en revue différentes stratégies mises en œuvre par des sociétés Robo-Advice dans le monde entier. Il se concentre sur l’identification des principaux défis et sur l’illustration des opportunités offrant un avantage compétitif, en mettant l’accent sur la désirabilité, la faisabilité et la profitabilité

The Wealth Management Canvas - A Framework for Designing the WealthTech Firm of the Future (en anglais)

The Wealth Management Canvas – A Framework for Designing the WealthTech Firm of the Future (en anglais)

par Dr Claude Diderich | Mai 2018 | dans The WEALTHTECH Book, S. Chishti & T. Puschmann (eds.) | John Wiley & Sons | Chicester, Grande Bretagne | pp. 260-264


De nombreuses entreprises de WealthTech traversent une période difficile, car elles ne se concentrent que sur une des caractéristiques de leur modèle d’entreprise. Comprendre comment la technologie peut aider les clients à satisfaire leurs besoins est la clé du succès. Le «wealth management canvas» fournit un outil aux sociétés WealthTech à concevoir et à valider leurs modèles d’entreprise de manière holistique. Il relie les technologies innovantes à la proposition de valeur et permet de définir un avantage compétitif durable. Le «wealth management canvas» est un outil éprouvé pour transformer les idées créatives de WealthTech en entreprises profitables. Il se concentre sur les aspects les plus importants et évite de nombreux pièges

ARTICLES ET PAPIERS DE CONFÉRENCES

Understanding the Value of Design Thinking to Innovation in Banking (en anglais)

Understanding the Value of Design Thinking to Innovation in Banking (en anglais)

par Dr Claude Diderich | novembre 2018 | dans Journal of Financial Transformation | No. 48 | pp. 64-73


Au plus tard avec l’avènement de la fintech, le monde bancaire a été confronté à la méthode «design thinking», une méthode prouvée pour résoudre des problèmes complexes. La méthode «design thinking» libère la créativité et soutient le développement de solutions innovantes souhaitables (les clients sont intéressés à acheter), réalisables (les banques peuvent tenir les promesses faites) et profitables (les banques peuvent générer des bénéfices). Elle met l’accent sur le client et vise à satisfaire ses besoins. Grâce à son approche itérative, elle fournit des solutions différenciées et supérieures, à la fois d’un point de vue fonctionnel et émotionnel. En observant les clients dans leur environnement naturel, en prototypant et en validant des idées, «design thinking» garantit le bon fonctionnement des solutions développées. Cet article en anglais explique en quoi la conception peut aider à rendre le secteur bancaire plus innovant

Initiating the Strategy Process Using Design Thinking (en anglais)

Initiating the Strategy Process using Design Thinking (en anglais)

par Dr Claude Diderich | Mars 2017 | dans Change Management Strategy eJournal | https://ssrn.com/abstract=2927941
Une version préliminaire de ce papier a été présentée à la 36th Strategic Management Society (SMS) Annual International Conference | Septembre 2016 | Berlin, Allemagne


Le lancement du processus de développement d’une stratégie est une entreprise complexe. Dans cet article, nous introduisons le concept de «focus stratégique», basé sur le modèle d’entreprise associé à la méthode «design thinking», définissant une fondation ou un point d’ancrage à partir duquel le processus de développement d’une stratégie peut être initié. Une entreprise peut choisir parmi quatre focus stratégiques possibles i) être centré sur le client, ii) mettre l’accent sur l’innovation de produits et de services, iii) exploiter les compétences existantes ou iv) se différencier par des chiffres financiers. Les modèles d’entreprise allégé de la société, de la concurrence et de l’industrie permettent d’identifier les caractéristiques clés sur lesquelles la société devrait fonder sa stratégie. En appliquant l’approche «design thinking», le focus stratégique est défini avec un effort minimal tour en évitant des analyses préliminaires inutiles. L’approche proposée est facile à comprendre et à appliquer par les membres du conseil d’administration et les dirigeants d’entreprise n’ayant pas une formation en stratégie. Elle se concentre sur les aspects les plus importants et évite les analyses sans valeurs ajoutées

The Min-Max Portfolio Optimization Strategy: An Empirical Study on Balanced Portfolios (en anglais)

The Min-Max Portfolio Optimization Strategy: An Empirical Study on Balanced Portfolios (en anglais)

par Dr Claude Diderich & Wolfgang Marty | Septembre 2001 | dans Numerical Analysis and Its Applications, L. Vulkov, P. Yalamov, & J. Waśniewski (eds) | Lecture Notes in Computer Science | Vol. 1988 | Springer | Heidelberg, Allemagne | pp. 238-245


Les processus d’investissement utilisent souvent des modèles quantitatifs basés sur l’approche «mean-variance» de Markowitz pour déterminer les positions optimales du portefeuille. L’inconvénient majeur de l’utilisation de telles techniques est que l’optimalité de la structure du portefeuille n’est valable que pour un seul scénario de rendements attendus. Becker, Marty et Rustem ont présenté l’approche d’optimisation de portefeuille min-max afin de remédier à cet inconvénient. Elle permet de calculer des positions de portefeuille qui garantissent un compromis risque / rendement dans le pire des cas. Dans cet article, nous étendons leur approche en intégrant les coûts de transaction. Nous illustrons les avantages de la stratégie min-max pour les portefeuilles équilibrés. L’importance de prendre en compte les coûts de transaction lors du rééquilibrage des portefeuilles est illustrée. Les résultats expérimentaux montrent comment un portefeuille peut être assuré contre une éventuelle perte sans sacrifier un potentiel de hausse trop important

Expert Systems and their Risks: An Ethical Study (en anglais)

Expert Systems and their Risks: An Ethical Study (en anglais)

par Claude Diderich | 1993 | dans International Conference on Computer Science, Communication, and Society: A Technical and Cultural Challenge | Neuchâtel, Suisse | https://ssrn.com/abstract=3071708


Pendant toute notre vie, même sans en avoir conscience, nous faisons très souvent appel à des systèmes experts. Ces programmes doivent, à un moment donné, prendre des décisions sans savoir si le choix effectué conduira à une bonne solution. Dans cet article, nous étudions à quel point un ordinateur peut prendre des décisions. De plus, nous cherchons à savoir qui est responsable moralement en cas d’échec

Les résultats obtenus montrent que même dans la communauté informatique, les systèmes experts, et en particulier les théories sous-jacentes, ne sont pas très bien compris. Nous avons étudié les domaines dans lesquels des systèmes experts pourraient être utilisés en proposant différents scénarios aux participants de l’étude. Les résultats montrent qu’il faut distinguer entre les décisions critiques et les décisions qui ne le sont pas. La question de savoir si un informaticien ayant développé un système expert peut être tenu responsable en cas de décision incorrecte est examinée

Nous concluons de cette étude par l’observation que les systèmes experts ont leur place dans notre société. Les craintes qui existent à l’égard de ces systèmes devraient être réduites en informant les les utilisateurs de leurs possibilités ainsi que de leurs limitations fondamentales. Les possibilités des systèmes experts doivent être considérées comme des aides ou des outils d’aide à la décision, et non comme des substituts de personnes prenant des décisions

PUBLICATIONS

BOOKS

Positive Alpha Generation: Designing Sound Investment Processes

Positive Alpha Generation: Designing Sound Investment Processes

by Dr Claude Diderich | January 2009 | John Wiley & Sons | Chichester, United Kingdom


Dr Claude Diderich describes tools and techniques, which can be used to develop qualitative and/or quantitative investment processes for actively managing investment products. He focuses on how theoretical models can and should be used in practice. He describes the interaction between different elements of an investment process’s value chain in a single and consistent framework. A key focus is placed on illustrating the theory with real world examples. At the end of the book the reader will be capable of designing or enhancing an investment process for an investment or portfolio managers products from start to finish

CHAPTERS IN BOOKS

Strategizing about RoboAdvice

Strategizing about RoboAdvice

by Dr Claude Diderich | to appear 2019 | in WealthTech: Wealth and Asset Management in the Fintech Age, M. Antenenn & P. Schueffel (eds.) | Information Age Publishing | Charlotte, NC | pp. N/A


When talking about the future of WealthTech, the buzzword Robo-Advice is not far away. But what is Robo-Advice? In this chapter, I will review different strategies implemented by Robo-Advisors worldwide. I will focus on identifying key challenges and illustrate opportunities for competitive advantage, focusing on desirability, feasibility, and viability

The Wealth Management Canvas - A Framework for Designing the WealthTech Firm of the Future

The Wealth Management Canvas – A Framework for Designing the WealthTech Firm of the Future

by Dr Claude Diderich | May 2018 | in The WEALTHTECH Book, S. Chishti & T. Puschmann (eds.) | John Wiley & Sons | Chicester, United Kingdom | pp. 260-264


Many WealthTech firms are facing challenging times because they only focus on one property in their business model. Understanding how technology can help investment customers satisfy their needs and fulfill their jobs to be done is key for success and to deliver value. The wealth management canvas provides a framework to support WealthTech firms in designing and validating their business models in a holistic way. It relates innovative technologies to the value proposition and allows defining a sustainable competitive advantage. It is a proven tool for transforming creative WealthTech ideas into viable businesses. It focuses on those aspects that matter most and helps avoid many pitfalls

JOURNAL AND CONFERENCE PAPERS

Understanding the Value of Design Thinking to Innovation in Banking

Understanding the Value of Design Thinking to Innovation in Banking

by Dr Claude Diderich | november 2018 | in Journal of Financial Transformation | No. 48 | pp. 64-73


With the advent of FinTech, the banking world has been confronted with the method of design thinking, a proven method for solving wicked problems. Design thinking unleashes creativity and supports developing innovative solutions that are desirable (customers are interested in buying), feasible (banks can deliver upon the promises made), and viable (banks can make a profit). It puts the customer center-stage, focuses on satisfying customer needs and understanding customer jobs-to-be-done. Through its iterative approach, design thinking delivers differentiated and superior solutions, both from a functional and an emotional perspective. By observing customers in their natural environment, prototyping and validating ideas, design thinking ensures that developed solutions work. This article discusses how design thinking can aid in making banking more innovative

Initiating the Strategy Process Using Design Thinking

Initiating the Strategy Process using Design Thinking

by Dr Claude Diderich | March 2017 | in Change Management Strategy eJournal | https://ssrn.com/abstract=2927941
A preliminary version of this paper was presented at the 36th Strategic Management Society (SMS) Annual International Conference | September 2016 | Berlin, Germany


Initiating the strategy process is a complex undertaking. In this paper, we introduce the concept of “strategic focus”, based on combining the lightweight business model framework with design thinking, defining a foundation or an anchor point from which the strategy process can be initiated. There exist four possible strategy views a firm can chose from, that is, i) being customer centric, ii) focusing on product and service innovation, iii) leveraging existing capabilities, and iv) differentiating on financials. The lightweight business model framework of a firm, competition, and industry allows identifying the key characteristics on which a firm should lay the foundation of its strategy, called the strategy view. Through applying design thinking, the strategy view can be defined with minimal effort and avoids unnecessary preliminary analysis. The proposed approach is easy to understand and apply by board members, executives, and managers not formally trained in strategy development. It focuses on those aspects that matter most and avoids non-value adding analysis

The Min-Max Portfolio Optimization Strategy: An Empirical Study on Balanced Portfolios

The Min-Max Portfolio Optimization Strategy: An Empirical Study on Balanced Portfolios

by Dr Claude Diderich & Wolfgang Marty | September 2001 | in Numerical Analysis and Its Applications, L. Vulkov, P. Yalamov, & J. Waśniewski (eds) | Lecture Notes in Computer Science | Vol. 1988 | Springer | Heidelberg, Germany | pp. 238-245


Modern investment processes often use quantitative models based on Markowitz’s mean-variance approach for determining optimal portfolio holdings. A major drawback of using such techniques is that the optimality of the portfolio structure only holds with respect to a single set of expected returns. Becker, Marty, and Rustem introduced the robust min-max portfolio optimization strategy to overcome this drawback. It computes portfolio holdings that guarantee a worst-case risk/return tradeoff. whichever of the specified scenarios occurs. In this paper we extend the approach to include transaction costs. We illustrate the advantages of the min-max strategy on balanced portfolios. The importance of considering transaction costs when rebalancing portfolios is shown. The experimental results illustrate how a portfolio can be insured against a possible loss without sacrificing too much upside potential

Expert Systems and their Risks: An Ethical Study

Expert Systems and their Risks: An Ethical Study

by Claude Diderich | 1993 | in International Conference on Computer Science, Communication, and Society: A Technical and Cultural Challenge | Neuchâtel, Switzerland | https://ssrn.com/abstract=3071708


During our whole life, even without being conscious of it, we very often must rely on expert systems. These programs have, at one point, to decide without knowing if the made choice will lead to an accurate solution. In this paper we study to what point a computer system may be allowed to take decisions. Furthermore, we are interested in understanding whom to hold morally responsible in case of failure

The results obtained show that even among the computer science community, expert systems, and especially the theory behind them, are not very well understood. We studied the areas in which expert systems should be used by suggesting various scenarios to the participants. Results show that one has to make a clear distinction between life critical decisions, and decisions which are not life critical. The question whether a computer scientist having developed an expert system, may be held responsible in case of incorrect decisions, is investigated

From this study we conclude that expert systems have their place in our society. The fear that exists towards these systems should be reduced by informing developers and users of their possibilities as well as their fundamental limitations. As often as possible, expert systems should be seen as decision making aids or tools instead of replacement of persons